Saturday, 7 February 2009

George Skaroulis - Reunion (2008)

George Skaroulis - Reunion - [2008]
Artist: George Skaroulis
Album: Reunion
Genre: Piano solo, Нео-классика
Quality: 192 Kbps MP3
Size: 87.5 Мб

Pianist/composer George Skaroulis has once again succeeded in putting together an album so beautiful that it leaves you a little breathless.
Kathy Parsons

George Skaroulis - Reunion - [2008]
Part of a “George Skaroulis Spa Collection,” the seventeen tracks are made up of six new compositions, a shimmering arrangement of Sting’s “Fragile,” newly recorded versions of several of George’s most popular songs, and a few old favorites. Few artists succeed in saying so much with so few notes, and Skaroulis’ graceful melodies and floating ambient poetry are pure musical magic. Clocking in at just over an hour, “Reunion” is the perfect length for a massage session, a lazy soak in your backyard spa (or bathtub!), a prelude to sleep, calming commuting nerves, or just some quiet time in your office chair! Use your imagination, but give yourself time to savor and be soothed by the gorgeous music on “Reunion.”

Sting’s “Fragile” begins the CD, and Skaroulis has really made this song his own. Accompanied on Flamenco guitar by Jean Pierre, the gentle rhythms and repartee between the piano and guitar set a lovely mood for the album as a whole. “Evangelia” first appeared on “Return to Homeland” (2001) and has always been one of my favorites. Hauntingly beautiful in its simplicity, the piece is both elegant and emotionally compelling. The title track is one of the new pieces and has a sweet, wistful melody. “Numinous” was the title track for a 1998 release and is truly a Skaroulis classic, appearing here in its original form - some things need no improvement! “Hopes and Dreams” is another older favorite, newly recorded. “Into the Light” is much more ambient and atmospheric - an interlude of sorts. “Tree of Life” is another new piece, and is quietly enchanting. “Miles Away” conveys both nostalgia and longing. “Forgotten Song” is especially reflective of Skaroulis’ Greek heritage. “New Day” is full of optimism and promise. “Athena” is one of Skaroulis’ signature pieces and appears this time a piano solo - love it! “Awakening” was first released on “Second Nature” (2003), and closes the CD with something of a prayer.

I have been a big fan of George Skaroulis and his music for several years now and have loved all of his thirteen previous releases, but I think this is his best CD yet. It is available from and I give “Reunion” my highest recommendation!

Kathy Parsons

01 - Fragile.mp3
02 - Evangelia.mp3
03 - Reunion.mp3
04 - Numinous.mp3
05 - Hopes And Dreams.mp3
06 - Into The Light.mp3
07 - Tree Of Life.mp3
08 - On Friendship's Wings.mp3
09 - The Calling.mp3
10 - Snow.mp3
11 - Waves.mp3
12 - Blue Night.mp3
13 - Miles Away.mp3
14 - Forgotten Song.mp3
15 - New Day.mp3
16 - Athena.mp3
17 - Awakening

**Please wait for 5 seconds and click Skip Ads to get the original link. Thanks!

Related Posts by Categories


Post a Comment